top of page

Weekly Reports

Weekly Reports: Welcome
Weekly Reports: Blog2
Search

Level 17 - New Relationships

Weekly Report 17 1/14/19 - 1/20/19


At the ISM Research Showcase, I presented my results to several interested people, some friends, some strangers, and some aspiring students just like me. Given the fact that there was not, to my knowledge, a single ISM student last year pursuing game development, it was very heartwarming to see kids who came to my desk because they had an interest in game development experiences specifically. One student told me about how FISD has been trying to expand their game development programs, and while there was a bit of jealousy inside me for missing the classes that were being planned, it felt largely encouraging to hear that other kids would get to experience what I could not.


Another thing that came to my attention during the showcase was the identity of another ISM student at Liberty High School who is studying game development this year. His name was Diego Lorenso, and after showing each other our work, we agreed to connect. Later in the year, I will see what he creates for his final product. Now, there are three students known to me who are studying the games industry this year, and hopefully there will be even more meaningful connections made down the line.


For now, my digital portfolio has been expanding to include my project content. At the moment of writing this, however, there is another webpage for a second project that is currently in drafting. Deciding how to follow through with creating a public page for that project in association with my professional internet presence has been a difficult change in perspective which has been in my mind for half a month. It is good that these questions are being tackled now, though, because it will allow me to take the actions towards selling myself as a developer as early as possible. I could lock in some failures in this aspect before college begins, for example, and that would be highly beneficial. Throughout the coming weeks and mentor visits, part of the aim will be to grow comfortable with a new relationship between the professional me and the personal me.


LEVEL CLEAR.

bottom of page